History and logo of the association

The life of an association is not always easy. Yet, after thirty-six years, we are still active and determined to meet the needs of our members and to evolve with them. Several decisive moments have marked our evolution, always carried by many volunteers motivated to help our members, to inform them and to support them.

We therefore present to you the history and logo of Polio Quebec, drawing great inspiration from the book  A History of Polio in Quebec written by Sally Aitken, Pierrette Caron and Gilles Fournier.

To learn more about the history and logo of the Polio Quebec Association, from its founding to today, please click on this link:


Here is the list of people who have presided over Polio Quebec since 1985:

Sieglinde Stieda (Founder. 1985 - 1986

 Yolande Rouleau (1986 - 1988)

Mona Arsenault (1988 - 1993)

Sally Aitken 

(1993 - 1997)

Pauline Karolewicz Sweer (1997 - 1999)

Reverend William (Bill) Phillips (1999 - 2000)

Father Yves Gaudreault (2000 - 2002)

Mario Di Carlo (2002 - 2006)

Gilles Besner (2006 - 2012)

Daniel Montmarquette (2013 - 2018)

Stewart Valin         (2018 - 2019)

Roland Larivière 2019

People who have been on the board

First, here is the list, in alphabetical order, of people who have volunteered on the board of directors of the Polio Quebec Association since 1985. We can see how much the community has become involved in the association. Accordingly, we would like to say to you: thank you all!

Ackad, Samir
Aitken, Sally
Allison, Gordon
Anger, Beth
Anger, Marcel
Arsenault, Mona
Baldé, Lamine
Beaudin, Jacqueline
Bergeron, Normand
Besner, Gilles
Blain, Dr Gilbert
Bombardier, Michel
Bourget, Céline
Campos, Robert
Caron, Pierrette
Colangelo, Sylvie
Cossette, Gérard
Cruess, Dr Richard
D'Amico, Anne
De Gagné, Jacques
Di Carlo, Mario
D'orazio, Helen
Duguay, Marcel
Dumais, Raymond
Elliot, David
Fothergill, Jack
Fournier, Gilles
Fowles, Dr John

Francoeur, Carmen
Gagliardi, Nicole
Gaudette, Jean-François
Gaudreault, Father Yves
Giannuzzi, Gregory
Groot, Richard
Guttman, Dr. Herta
Hanrahan, Margaret
Hayeur, Louise
Héroux, Lise
Houle, Diane
Jerrett, Joyce
Katta, Amitha
Lalande, Bernard
Lamarche, Ginette
Lambert, Andrée
Lamrane, Khadija
Larivière, Roland
Mallen, Chantal
Massicotte, Sylvie
McDonald, John
McGuinness, Audrey
Mercier, Claire
Mercier, Claude
Montmarquette, Daniel
Ouellet, Lise
Phillips, Rev. William
Pignatelli, Francesco

Poulin, Marie-Claude
Quintal, Ginette
Robinson, Ann
Rouleau, Yolande
Rousse, François
Silverman, Syd
Stieda, Sieglinde
Stenson, Bruno Paul
St-Onge, Gérald
Strobel, Geneviève
Karolewicz Sweer, Pauline
Taing, Sok-kheng
Valin, Stewart
Van Daele, Anne-Marie
Van Daele, Paul
Venturini, Adriana
Wasson, Françoise
Wasson, Robert
Westcott, Alice

of the logo

It was in 1992 that Polio Quebec adopted its current logo: a bright sun, with a gray ray among bright rays, reminding us that we are a group wishing to illuminate the world of polio by radiating outwards, always aware of the possible dangers of the side effects of this disease (gray ray).

The reason the number "25" is inside the sun is to highlight the 25 years of existence of the Association, and was used between 2010 and 2013.

For those who remember

Prior to the creation of the current logo, another logo was used by Polio Quebec in its early days. Indeed, it was a stylized neuron, drawn by Sieglinde Stieda, founder of the Association, and by her friend. This logo (below) was therefore used in the first bulletins of the Folio Polio.